Contact ICRU

​Get the latest ICRU information - Join the ICRU Listserv!

​If you are looking for a specific person to contact, scroll through the biographies below to find contact information, or visit People of ICRU. Not sure who to direct your question to?  Click on "Contact Us" to submit a general inquiry to ICRU.

Bob Kirby - Director
Blank Honors Center

Bob has a PhD in biopsychology from the University of Virginia. His interests feature neural control, human behavior, the effects of drugs, and their mechanisms of action. As a member of the psychology department, his research focused on cardiovascular responses to stress during early development and his teaching concentrated on the science and regulation of drugs. 

Bob's primary roll at UI is serving as the Associate Director of the University of Iowa Honors Program.  He is also an Adjunct Associate Professor in Psychology. 

Beyond the University of Iowa, Bob loves to spend his time in the outdoors.

Melinda Licht - Program Coordinator
401 Blank Honor Center

Melinda obtained a Bachelors of Arts in Religion Studies from the U of Iowa in 2007 and a Master’s in Theological Studies in 2010, focusing her thesis work on the religious and philosophical background that shaped the western world’s attitudes toward non-human animals.  She then returned to the University of Iowa to earn a Bachelor’s in Science in biology.  As an undergraduate, Melinda began her science research career under Michael Wright in the Physiology Department. She continued working in the Wright lab before eventually moving to the Ophthalmology Department. 

Melinda is excited to join ICRU as the Program Director.  She believes strongly that a research built on ethics, communication, collaboration, and intellectual practices are crucial for a positive future in society.  She is excited to combine her love of research with her broad experiences across both the sciences and humanities to help students use research to discover themselves, find their passions, and build critical leadership skills. 

Our Partners:

University of Iowa Honors Program (UIHP)

Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development (OVPR)

Office of the Provost

Latham Science and Engagement Initiative (LSEI)

Women in Science and Engineering (WISE)

Ronald E. McNair Scholars Program Iowa

Iowa Biosciences Advantage Program (IBA)

Iowa Research Online

ICRU Steering Committee

The ICRU Steering Committee consists of faculty and staff members, each representing a different area of the University of Iowa.

Bob Kirby - ICRU Director and Committee Convener

Marc Armstrong - Professor, Geography

Lon Moeller - Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education and Dean, University College

Lindsay Marshall - ICRU Associate Director

Craig Just - Assistant Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Rebekah Kowal - Associate Professor, Dance

Cornelia Lang - Associate Professor, Physics and Astronomy

Ann Ricketts - Assistant Vice President for Research, Communication and External Relations

Sarah Vigmostad  - Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering