Analisa Iole is in her second season as Drum Major of the Hawkeye Marching Band. She is a 2014 graduate of Marshalltown High School where she served as Drum Major under the direction of Bret Lee and Brett Umthun. She has played the clarinet in symphonic and concert bands, as well as several honor bands, including the Iowa All State Band for two years. Analisa has enjoyed playing all the saxophones in several jazz bands, including the Hawkeye Big Band at the University of Iowa. She studied ballet along with many other styles of dance for 15 years. In high school, she studied at the Robert Thomas Dancenter under the direction of Robert Thomas and Miyoko Kato Thomas. She was also a member of the Dancenter Dancer competition team under the direction of Maureen McGrath. Analisa served as a member of the undergraduate teaching staff in the Hawkeye Marching Band clarinet section for three years.

Analisa is pursuing a Doctor of Pharmacy degree in the College of Pharmacy. In July 2017 she attended the Smith Walbridge Drum Major Clinic at Eastern Illinois University where she was awarded the commission of Drum Major First Class in military mace technique.



Former Drum Majors of the Hawkeye Marching Band

2015-2017  Isaac Anderson
2012-2014  Quentin Marquez
2009-2011  Joe Piasecki
2007-2008  Chet Aliga
2005-2006  Jason Hillenbrand
2003-2004  Dameon Place
1999-2002  Pres Maxson
1996-1998  Chad Smith
1994-1995  Charlie Taylor
1992-93  Eric Hojka
1990-91  David Bowman
1988-89  Jeff Sebille
1986-87  David Lang
1984-1985  John Gilbert
1983  Jim Purviance
1981-1982  David Woodley
1980  Doug Dederich
1978-1979  John Nelles
1974-1977  Doug Dederich
1973  Vern Windsor
1970-72  Tom Leslie, Steve Murphy
1968-69  John Gillenwater
1967 Vince Paxcia
1965 Bill Parisi
1962-64 Gerald Kesler, Bill Parisi
1961 Gerald Kesler
1958-60  Robert Glover
1957 Jack Glover, Robert Glover
1956 Jack Glover
1955 Ron Chesmore, Jack Glover
1954 Bob Clarke
1953  Jean Hedgelund, Nathan Ottens
1952 Rollie Bridge, Ray Bierschbach
1951  Theodore P. Stecher, Malcolm K. Westly
1950 Nate Ottens, Carmen Bonnacci
1948  Charles W. McKinley, Arno F. Kapper
1947  Daylon E. McConkay, Charles W. McKinley
1946 John DuMont
1945 Orley K. Anderson, Doris Lotts
1944  Charles Hudson
1943 Rose Day, Mary DuMont
1940  Jean Hedlund, James Burnside
1939  Jean Hedlund, Parley Wellstead
1937 Douglas Brookes, Pat Clemmensen, Parley Wellstead
1928 Floyd E. Barber
1925-26 Ernest H. Gerdes
1924 John A. Phillips
1923 R. J. Dushinske
1919 Joe Benge
1914 _____ Smith
1912-13 Guy W. Taylor
1910-11 Harvey W. Miner
1909 Walter T. Gutz
1906-97 J. E. Burgy
1905 A. C. Wallace
1903 R.V. Mills
1902 W. L. Baughn
1900 Frederick Henry Luhman
1899 Charles Goettsch
1892 H.C. Ring
1891 Charles Dutcher
1890 Milton I. Powers
1887 Don Love
1886 Julius Lischer

Doug Dederich, HMB Drum Major - 1975

Above: Doug Dederich, 1975

Our Hawkeye Marching Band Drum Majors train at the Smith-Walbridge Clinics.

(HMB alums: e-mail Dr. Eric Bush with the names of former HMB drum majors so we can expand this list!)