Season 50 Concert I

The Society of Composers, Inc.
University of Iowa Student Chapter
24 + 24 Hour Concert
View the concert program

Sunday, September 20, 2015, 7:30pm
Riverside Recital Hall


The 24 + 24 Hour concert was conceived in 2012 by the University of Iowa’s Society of Composers, Inc., Student Chapter leaders Brian Penkrot, Jason Palamara, and Will Huff. The goal of the event is to foster strong bonds and collaborative relationships between performers and composers at the school of music. 

The event begins by randomly assigning composers to a volunteer musician or small ensemble from the school of music. These composers then have twenty-four hours to compose an original work for their assigned performer or ensemble. Once the performers receive the new work, they have up to twenty-four hours to learn, practice, and rehearse the piece until they perform it at a concert. 

Each year the composers have raised the bar by developing the concert to include not only solo works, but also collaborations with small ensembles, dancers, and even the Laptop Orchestra of the University of Iowa (LOUi). Please join us at Riverside Recital Hall on September 20, 7:30 PM, and experience an evening of frenetically invented new music!

This year the 24 + 24 Hour Concert Project begins on Friday September 18 at 5:00pm. At 5:00pm on September 19, the performers receive their new compositions and begin practicing. The project culminates in a performance in the Riverside Recital Hall at 7:30pm on September 20.

Composer/Performer Pairing
Joungmin Lee Solo Flute: Emily Duncan (flute)
Paul Duffy Solo Flute: Flute and Voice Duet: Jeiran Hasan, Hannah Kauffman
Alex Kane Solo Flute: Solo Piano: Gustavo Do Carmo
Joseph Norman Oboe: Allison Offerman
Alex Spyrou Reed quintet (Oboe- Anna Peterson, Bb Clarinet- Joe Valenti, Alto Saxophone- Yi Chen, Bass clarinet- Christine Burke, Bassoon– Keegan Hockett)
Bernard Short Solo Bassoon: Alex Widstrand
Carlos Toto Tobon Solo Saxophone: Jose Barrientos
Joshua Marquez Solo Violin: Andrew Gentzsch
Christine Burke Solo Violin: Leonid Ieogansen
Carlos Cotallo Solares Solo Piano: Korak Lertpibulchai
Jared Hedges Solo Tuba: Bo Atlas
Jacob Simmons Electronic and Dance Duet and Visual Artist: Autumn Eckman, Jesse Factor (dancers) and Marina Ross (visual artist)
Jonah Elrod Electronic and Dance Trio: Angello Betina Carlos, Venezia Manuel, Tallis Strub
Leo Iogansen Electronic and Dance Quartet: Danielle Beeman, Erin Corcoran, Ashley Kostelnik, Kristin Vasilakos
Jonathan Wilson 15 Electronic and Visual Artists: Julia Wolfe



Sunday, September 20, 2015 - 7:30pm-9:30pm (ended)