The University of Iowa continues to honor a long tradition of shared governance in which university-wide policies and initiatives are made in collaboration with the campus’s many leaders and shared governance representatives.

University of Iowa 2016-2021 Strategic Plan


1 of 3 public universities governed by the Iowa Board of Regents

University leaders

Bruce Harreld, president

Montse Fuentes, executive vice president and provost

J. Brooks Jackson, vice president for medical affairs

Cheryl Reardon, chief HR officer and associate VP of human resources

Terry Johnson, chief financial officer and treasurer

Gary Barta, director of athletics

Suresh Gunasekaran, CEO, UI Hospitals and Clinics

Rod Lehnertz, senior vice president for finance and operations

Lynette Marshall, president and CEO, UI Center for Advancement

Peter Matthes, senior advisor to the president, vice president for external relations

Laura McLeran, senior advisor to the president, associate vice president for external relations, interim vice president for student life

Carroll Reasoner, vice president for legal affairs and general counsel

Steve Fleagle, associate vice president and CIO

Marty Scholtz, vice president for research

Organizational charts

Unit organizational charts are available in the University Operations Manual.

Collegiate deans

Daniel Clay, College of Education

Sarah Gardial, Henry B. Tippie College of Business

J. Brooks Jackson, Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine

David Johnsen, College of Dentistry

Steve Goddard, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

John Keller, Graduate College

Donald Letendre, College of Pharmacy

Edith Parker, College of Public Health

Alec B. Scranton, College of Engineering

Tanya Uden-Holman, University College

Kevin Washburn, College of Law

Julie Zerwic, College of Nursing 

Shared governance

UI Student Government: Representing undergraduate students

Executive Council of Graduate and Professional Students: Representing students in graduate and professional programs

Graduate Student Senate: The primary representative, administrative, and service organization for the graduate students at the University of Iowa

Faculty Senate: Representing faculty from all academic units

Staff Council: Representing non-bargaining professional and scientific and merit, supervisory exempt/confidential (MSEC) staff

Charter Committees: Advising on topics from diversity to teaching to research and more