CSW Herstorywomen at iowa loog

Women at Iowa
Book Recommendations
Women at Iowa History
The Committee

Women at Iowa shows are available on the University of Iowa YouTube channel.  You can see them any time at:http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7d8BMotflM3SG0SrDYOMiyL0pvBvye0B

Interviews from the fourth season of Women at Iowa include Linda Kerber, Jessica Hook, Kari Thompson, and the founders of Women at Iowa: Renee Sueppel, Kelly Johnson, and Diana Harris.

The third season of Women at Iowa includes interview with Jean Y. Jew Women's Rights Award winners Rusty BarceloMonique DiCarloChris Brus, and Rachel Williams.

Women at Iowa has also focused on UI alumnae who have become elected public officials: Joan Lipsky, Karen Kubby, Kim Painter, Reginia Bailey, and Mary Mascher.

Women who have been interviewed in 2010 include: Jill Vibhakar Meadows, 2006 Jean Y. Jew Women's Rights Award winner; Chelsea Russell, Iowa's Golden Girl featured twirler;Nancy Hauserman and Lee Anna Clark discussing the 2004 campus Sexual Harassment Survey and Report; Diane Finnerty, Director of Faculty HR and Development in the Provost's Office; and Lisa Bluder, women's basketball head coach.

jill meadows and kelly johnson

Rachel Williams (L) with host Anna Flaming (R)

chelsea russell and kelly johnson

Kelly Johnson (L) and host with geust Rusty Barcelo (C), and Diana Harris (R), producer

lee anna clark, diana harris, nancy hauserman

Mary Mascher(L) with host Veronica Havens (R)

Women who have been interviewed since summer 2009 include: Monica Brasile, Phd candidate in Women's Studies; Kelly Thornburg, coordinator of the Iowa N.E.W. Leadership ProgramKeri Hornbuckle, DEO and professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering; andNatasha Bullock-Rest, student and member of the Feminist Majority Leadership Alliance

Fall 2009 Women at Iowa tapings: Jennifer Glass, professor of Sociology and 2007 winner ofJean Y. Jew Women's Rights Award; Karla Miller, executive director of RVAP and 2006 winner of Jean Y. Jew Women's Rights AwardNancy Thompson and Beth Pelton, faculty from the former Dental Hygiene department at the UI; Laurie Haag, program developer atWRAC and 2004 winner of Jean Y. Jew Women's Rights AwardCarol Fethke, formerly in Home Economics department, then Economics in College of Business; Susan Johnson, associate provost for faculty, faculty in Ob/Gyn in the College of Medicine, and 1999 winner of Jean Y. Jew Women's Rights AwardAdrien Wing, professor in the College of Law; Nancy Hauserman, Williams Teaching Professor, College of Business, (shown with host Anna Flaming) and 1995 winner of Jean Y. Jew Women's Rights AwardEmily Grieves, UI student, director of 10,000 Hours Show Project and former UISG member.


Book Recommendations: Women at Iowa are asked by the host what one book they would recommend to their audience, a book that in some way captures something of importance or interest to the guest. Chelsea Russell listed David Sedaris' Naked and Jill V. Meadows notedThe Dance of the Dissident Daughter by Sue Monk Kidd. List of books recommended by Women at Iowa guests. Lisa Bluder recommended a movie: Iron Jawed Angels.

Women at Iowa History: In 2008 the committee of three (Renee Sueppel, Kelly Johnson, Diana Harris) started a new project: to interview women who have been active and influential on campus. The result is a TV show called "Women at Iowa" that debuted in August 2008 onUI TV. On 8/26/08 the Herstory group and many friends and guests gathered in the Senate chamber of the Old Capitol Museum to see the premiere show, an interview with Christine Grant. After the viewing, Grant offered a few words.

The first 3 guests on the show were Christine Grant former UI Women's Athletics director, associate professor emerita of Health and Sports Studies; Lola Lopes former interim UI Provost, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education, and professor emerita in the Tippie College of Business; and Carole Peterson, UI alumna and former UISG vice president. Those guests were followed by Kathleen Johnson & Jan Weissmiller, of Prairie Lights Books, discussing books authored by women.

In the 2008-2009 year, Women at Iowa featured interviews with Jacki Thompson Rand, UI Associate Professor of History; Meryn Fluker, UI senior majoring in Journalism and Political Science and a DI Arts and Culture Reporter; Meenakshi Gigi Durham, UI Associate Professor of Journalism and Mass Communication; Carralee Sueppel, MSN and retired UI staff nurse; Tisch Jones, Associate Professor of Directing and Theatre History; Isabel Barbuzza, Associate Professor of Sculpture; Christina McClelland, Project Art at UI; Dale Fisher, UIMA educator, speaking about women artists represented in the UIMA collection;Kathleen Edwards, Chief Curator at UIMA; Shari Rhoads, Lecturer in Music; and Dana Quartana (grad. student, history; former COGS president).

herstory members 0510

Some of Herstory Committee, May 2010 (l to r) - Kristi DiClemente, Susan Caswell, Sharon Lake, Kelly Johnson, Myntha Cuffy, Eleanor and Jessica Hook.

Herstory Committee: The Council on the Status of Women has been involved in and has been the catalyst for projects such as studies of salary and equity in the mid-1970s and mid-1980s, the 1993 survey of sexual harassment on campus repeated in 2004, the campus climate report card, and recently the athletics merger review. Herstory's work includes documenting the Council's work and the work, experiences, and history of women on the UI campus.

Women at Iowa T-Shirt was designed by UI alumna Cortnie, owner of the White Rabbit. If you would like to buy a Women at Iowa t-shirt for $15 in either the fitted cap-sleeve or regular style, please write.

To find information about CSW past events and accomplishments, check the Iowa Women's Archives.