Season Review

CNM's 44th Season — 2009-10

The Center for New Music, the focus of contemporary music at the University of Iowa, has organized 21 concerts this season that features both guest ensembles and performances by the CNM ensemble. We are excited to host both the Onix Ensemble from Mexico and the Jack Quartet from Boston. Our own performances will feature new works by Bernard Rands and Geoffrey Gordon, as well as a rare opportunity to experience Boulez's Rituel.

Articles

Sunday, September 27, 2009, 7:30 p.m. at UCC Recital Hall. *** The CMN Ensemble performed works by Coleman, Eckert, Gainey, Joyce, Kendrick and Schmitz
Thursday, October 1, 2009, 7:30 p.m. at UCC Recital Hall. *** CNM guest artists, The ONIX Ensemble (Mexico) performed works by Escuer, Oliveira, Ortiz, Revueltas and Vayo
Friday, October 9, 2009, 7:30 p.m. SCI Conference & ICF Festival, Clarke College, Jansen Music Hall *** The CMN Ensemble performed works by: Coleman, Eckert, Gainey, Joyce, Kendrick and Schmitz
Saturday, October 17, 2009, 7:30 p.m. at UCC Recital Hall *** CNM guest artists, Unison Piano Duo, performed works by Adams, Eckert, Joyce, Romig, Stravinsky and White
Sunday, October 18, 2009, 2:00 p.m. at the Old Capitol Senate Chamber. *** Stephen Swanson, baritone, and David Gompper, piano, performed "A Recital of Animal Songs" with works by Ravel, Reger and Gompper
Sunday, October 25, 2009, 2:00 p.m. at the Old Capitol Senate Chamber. *** Wolfgang David, violin, and David Gompper, piano performed works by Brahms, Mozart and Gompper
Sunday, November 15, 2009, 7:30 p.m. at the Riverside Recital Hall. *** CNM guest artists, The Jack Quartet, performed works by Xenakis, Browning, Sharp & Machaut.
Sunday, December 6, 2009, 7:30 p.m. at the Riverside Recital Hall. *** The CMN Ensemble, with Guest Artists, Ann Cravero, mezzo-soprano, and Nathalie Cruden, viola, performed works by Balter, Gordon, Rands and Penderecki.
Tuesday, January 26, 2010, 7:30 p.m. at the UCC Recital Hall. *** CNM guest artists, The Strike Duo, Jeffery Meyer & Paul Vaillancourt performed works by Koontz, Joyce, Chen Yi and Mellits.
Sunday, February 14, 2010, 7:30 p.m. at the Riverside Recital Hall. *** The CNM Ensemble performed works by Dubkova, Ward-Steinman, Schwartz and Ustvolskaya.
Sunday, February 21, 2010, 2:00 p.m. at the Old Capitol Senate Chamber. *** Wolfgang David, violin, Wolfgang Panhofer, 'cello, and David Gompper, piano, performed works by J.S. Bach, Schoenberg, Wolfram Wagner and Gompper
Saturday, March 6, 2009, 2:00 p.m. at the Riverside Recital Hall. *** John Muriello, baritone, and David Gompper, piano, performed works by Dale Roberts, Stamatelos, Thomas and Gompper
FOUR CONCERTS on Friday, March 26, 2010, 7:30 p.m. Saturday, March 27, 2010, 11:00 a.m., 2:00 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. at the UCC Recital Hall. *** FESTIVAL OF CONTEMPORARY MUSIC *** featured works by students from the Universities of Missouri at Kansas City and Iowa.
On Thursday, April 8, 2010, 7:30 p.m. University of Minnesota, Ted Mann Concert Hall; Friday, April 9, 2010, 8:00 p.m. University of Wisconsin, Mills Concert Hall; and Sunday, April 11, 2010, 7:30 p.m. University of Iowa, IMU Ballroom. *** The CNM Ensemble Spring Tour, featuring works by Boulez and others.
Sunday, April 25, 2010, 7:30 p.m. at the UCC Recital Hall. *** The New Music Ensemble of the University of Minnesota at Minneapolis, Young-Nam Kim, director, performed works by Berndt, Webern, Mamlok, Schuller and Schoenberg.
Subscribe to Articles