Season 51 Concerts V–VIII

David Gier, Director, School of Music
On behalf of the faculty, staff and students of the University of Iowa School of Music, I welcome you to the 2016 Midwest Composers Symposium. Since the inception of the Center for New Music in 1966, new and experimental music has held a place of prominence in our community, and we deeply value the ways in which professional gatherings like this stimulate creative work and forge connections between composers and performers. We are thrilled to be hosting you in our inaugural year in the Voxman Music Building, and look forward to hearing your compositions animate our new spaces.
With best wishes for a fruitful and enjoyable time in Iowa City,
David Gier, Director, School of Music
Erich Funke Professor, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

MidWest Composers Symposium

UI hosting composers from the
Universities of Iowa, Michigan, Indiana and Cincinnati

In a series of four concerts
Friday, November 4 at 7:30 pm
Saturday, November 5, 10:00 am, 2:00 pm & 4:00 pm
Read the concert programs, notes and bios
PDF iconMCS booklet 2016-web.pdf


The leading concert on the evening of Friday, November 4, will include performances of the following selected works by five University of Iowa ensembles.

Kantorei, Timothy Stalter, director
How Beautiful is the Night by Jung Yoon Wie (Michigan)
3-5 excerpts from Ten Short Poems by Emily Dickinson by Nathan Thatcher (Michigan)

Percussion Ensemble, Dan Moore, director
Branch by Carlos Cotallo Solares (Iowa)

Wind Ensemble, Mark Heidel, director
Reigniere by Zachery Meier (Iowa)

Center for New Music Ensemble, David Gompper, director
Hot Potato by Corey Rubin (Indiana)

University of Iowa Symphony Orchestra, William LaRue Jones, director
Eva Variations by Michael Lanci (CCM)


The Midwest Composers Symposium is a consortium made up of the composition departments of four American Midwest universities: the University of Cincinnati, Indiana University, the University of Iowa, and the University of Michigan. The purpose is to allow students to have contact with other composers at nearby institutions and to foster connections and self-identity.

The symposium was begun in 1948 by Anthony Donato of Northwestern University, and Michigan, Illinois, and Iowa. For a few years during the 1960s, the symposium concerts ceased due to a change in academic calendars but resumed in the early 1970s, when most schools adopted the quarter system. Oberlin College joined at that point, and a few years later, Indiana University. Northwestern dropped out in 1992, as did Illinois and Oberlin in 2007. The University of Cincinnati joined in 2008.

Composition Faculty Rosters

Indiana University Jacobs School of Music
David Dzubay (chair), Claude W. Baker, Don Freund, John Gibson,
Jeffrey Hass, Eugene O’Brien, P. Q. Phan, Aaron Travers

University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music
Michael Fiday, Mara Helmuth, Douglas Knehans, Miguel Roig-Francoli

University of Iowa School of Music
David Gompper (chair), Michael Eckert, Lawrence Fritts,
Jean-François Charles, Zachary Stanton, Joshua Levine

University of Michigan School of Music, Theatre & Dance
Erik Santos (chair), Evan Chambers, Michael Daugherty, Roshanne Eterzady,
Kristen Kuster, Paul Schoenfeld, Bright Sheng




Friday, November 4, 2016 - 7:30pm to Saturday, November 5, 2016 - 6:00pm (ended)


The UI School of Music Concert Hall