Season 50 Concert VII

The CNM Ensemble 2014
The CNM Ensemble

performing works by guest composer Caroline Shaw,
as well as works by
Greek composer Dimitri Papageorgiou and
Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho
guest cellist Kevin McFarland performing a new work by
Josh Levine


Composer Caroline Shaw
Trained primarily as a violinist from an early age in North Carolina, Caroline Shaw is a Grammy-winning singer in Roomful of Teeth and in 2013 became the youngest ever winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Music, for her enigmatic composition Partita for 8 Voices (also nominated for a Grammy for Best Classical Composition). She will make her solo violin debut in 2015 with the Cincinnati Symphony. She is the inaugural musician in residence at Dumbarton Oaks in the fall of 2014, and she will be the Composer in Residence for two years with Vancouver’s Music on Main. Caroline has also performed with ACME (American Contemporary Music Ensemble), the Trinity Wall Street Choir, Alarm Will Sound, the Mark Morris Dance Group Ensemble, the Knights, Victoire, the Yehudim, and many others.
The CNM Ensemble will perform two works by Caroline Shaw, in manus tuas (into thy hands, the responsory for the Compline service) and Taxidermy
    For solo cello, in manus tuas, is based on a Tomas Tallis motet and intended to capture the sensation of a single moment of hearing the motet as it were by a secular solo cello in a compline service set in a dark candlelit sonorous nave.
    For four percusionists, Taxidermy, intended to evoke something grand, awkward, epic, silent, funny, and just a bit creepy. Ms Shaw writes, "The repeated phrase toward the end (“the detail of the pattern is movement”) is a little concept I love trying (and failing) to imagine. It comes from T.S. Eliot’s beautiful and perplexing Burnt Norton (from the Four Quartets), and I’ve used it before in other work — as a kind of whimsical existentialist mantra."
Also programmed are works by Greek composer and UI Alumnus Dimitri Papageorgiou and Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho.
    For the past 8 years Dimitri Papageorgiou has been assistant professor of composition at the Department of Music Studies of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, receiving numerous commissions and appearing throughout Europe and America. Programmed for this concert is his 2011 work Effluences, that was performed at the 46th International Summer Course for New Music Darmstadt.
    Kaija Saariaho is a prominent member of a group of Finnish composers and performers. She studied the French ‘spectralist’ composers, whose techniques are based on computer analysis of the sound-spectrum and at IRCAM, developed techniques of computer-assisted composition and acquired fluency in working on tape and with live electronics. Programmed for this concert is Saariaho's work Lichtbogen, inspired by the composer's experience of seeing the Northern lights, and her initial work with a computer in the context of purely instrumental music.
Special guest performer Kevin McFarland at the cello will perform Josh Levine's new work Sixty Cycles.




Sunday, December 6, 2015 - 7:30pm-9:30pm (ended)


Riverside Recital Hall
Iowa City, IA