The Center for New Music
  David Gompper, Director
  Jean-François Charles, Music director, LOUi
  Sivan Cohen Elias, Visiting Asst Professor, 2018-19
  Hongwei Cai, Research Asst, CNM
  Lydia Dempsey and Ramin Roshandel, Research Assts, CW

The Center for New Music Ensemble performing the third concert
of its 52nd Season on September 24, 2017 in the Concert Hall.
 

The CNM 53rd Concert Season Review

— All concerts free and open to the public —

Sun, Sep 9, 2018    1. SCI 24 + 24 Hour Concert Project
Sun, Sep 23, 2018    2. CNM Ensemble I, Composer Michael Eckert
Tue, Sep 25, 2018    3. Guest Lisa Bost, Fluxion: New Works for Flute
Sat, Oct 6, 2018    4. Violinist Katie Wolfe and Pianist Ketty Nez
Sun, Oct 14, 2018    5. Composers’ Workshop I
Fri-Sat, Oct 19-20    6. Midwest Composers Symposium 2018
Sun, Dec 2, 2018    7. CNM Ensemble II, Composer Zae Munn
Mon, Dec 3, 2018    8. The Laptop Orchestra at UI, LOUi I
Wed, Dec 5, 2018    9. The JACK Quartet: Readings of New Works
Fri, Dec 7, 2018   10. The JACK Quartet in Concert I
Sat, Dec 8, 2018   11. The Electronic Music Studio Concert I
Sun, Dec 9, 2018   12. Composers Workshop Concert II
Sun, Feb 2, 2019   13. Duo Er-Gene Kahng & Nathan Carterette
Sun, Feb 24, 2019   14. Laura Schwendinger & Bernard Short
Thu, Feb 28, 2019   15. Liz Pearse, soprano & Stacey Barelos, piano
Sat, Mar 2, 2019   16. SCI - Call for Scores Concert
Sun, Mar 10, 2019   17. Wolfgang David, violin & David Gompper, piano
Sun, Mar 13, 2019   18. The JACK Quartet — Works by UI Composers
Sun, Mar 31, 2019   19. Composers’ Workshop Concert III
Sun, Apr 14, 2019   20. CNM Ensemble Concert Concert IV

  Fri, Apr 19, 2019 at 7:30p in the Stark Opera Studio
The Laptop Orchestra at UI, LOUi II

Directed by Asst. Professor Jean-François Charles, the Laptop Orchestra of the University of Iowa (LOUi) is an experimental new music ensemble that promotes the intersection of acoustic and electronic music, of traditional or classical instruments... read more

  Apr 25 & 27, 2019 (click link below for times and venues)
Accroche Note – UI composition readings and concert

Accroche Note is an ensemble of soloists formed around the soprano Françoise Kubler and clarinettist Armand Angster. Their aim is to lead in the promotion of today's music through a variety of mediums and genres. The programme of each concert... read more

  Sun, Apr 28, 2019 at 7:30p in the Concert Hall
Ensemble Accroche Note II – Dusapin and Debussy

Absorbed by the music of Dusapin and Debussy, the Ensemble Accroche Note intend to convey their seduction of both composers by the elegance and originality of the writing, the attraction for the vocal line and for orchestration, the energy of... read more

  Fri, May 3, 2019 at 7:30p in the Stark Opera Studio
The Electronic Music Studio II

Instructed by Visiting Asst. Prof. Sivan Cohen Elias, the Electronic Media Studio class allows students from any field to gain the fundamental knowledge needed to create original electroacoustic music. In this concert the students will present... read more

  Sun, May 5, 2019 at 7:30p in the Concert Hall
Composers’ Workshop IV

The Composers’ Workshop (CW), made available to the graduate and undergraduate students in the composition program, helps to promote new works in live performance, thus encouraging dialogue between composer/composer and composer/musician regarding... read more