Phase II Steering Committee 

Recommendations for faculty, staff, and student membership were solicited from shared governance leadership.

Janet Fairley (
DEO and John S. Strauss Professor, Department of Dermatology

Michael Hill (
DEO, African American Studies Program
Associate Professor, Department of English

John Keller (
Interim Vice President for Research and Economic Development
Associate Provost for Graduate and Professional Education
Dean of the Graduate College
Professor, College of Dentistry

Kevin Kregel (
Associate Provost for Faculty
Professor, Department of Health and Human Sciences 

Monica Madura (
Associate Director, Student Success and Graduation Initiatives, CLAS 

Tom Rice, Chair (
Director, UI Des Moines Programs
Professor, Department of Political Science 

Sara Sanders (
Director, School of Social Work
Associate Professor, School of Social Work  

Tristan Schmidt (
Director of Academic Affairs, University of Iowa Student Government
African American Studies major 

Lisa Segre (
Associate Professor, College of Nursing

Amanda Thein (
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Graduate Programs
Professor, Department of Teaching and Learning 

H.S. Udaykumar (
Professor, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Jennifer Verniero (
Graduate Student, Department of Mathematics

Rachel Williams (
DEO, Department of Gender, Women’s and Sexuality Studies
Faculty Senate Secretary
Associate Professor, School of Art and Art History and Department of Gender, Women’s and Sexuality Studies